What is COACT

Colorado’s Trauma Informed System of Care, or COACT Colorado, is supported by a cooperative agreement between the Colorado Department of Human Services and the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), administered by the Office of Behavioral Health in partnership with the Office of Children, Youth, and Families, and other local partners. The system of care in Colorado builds on existing infrastructure such as the Collaborative Management Program (HB 04-1451). All child and youth serving agencies are involved, including the public mental health system, child welfare, juvenile justice, and education.

A statewide goal for the system of care is to develop a sustainable infrastructure to coordinate and fund services for families of children and youth with complex needs. Colorado is now piloting its first care management entity (CME) in El Paso County. A CME is a centralized organization that blends funding, organizes services and supports, and serves as a hub of accountability across agencies.

COACT Colorado is currently supporting 15 Communities of Excellence in a total of 17 counties throughout the state. Each Community of Excellence receives funding to support wraparound facilitators, family advocates, infrastructure development, and flexible funding services for families. All Communities of Excellence receive technical assistance in family engagement, youth engagement, cultural competency, and lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning (LGBTQ) responsiveness. Cross-system trainings are also available on other topics such as trauma informed care and serving youth with both mental health and substance abuse disorders.


Service Map

The current Communities of Excellence are shown in green. Two out of three children in Colorado live in these counties. Please click on your county for more information.

COACT Service map

Montrose County

Michelle Gottlieb
Montrose County Hilltop Community Resources
970 252 7445

Garfield County

Andie Scott
Garfield County CMP

970 456 1188

Lake County

Gloria Perez
Lake County Department of Human Services
719 293 5272

Montezuma County

Michael Barnes
The Pinon Project
970 564 1195 x125

Dolores County

Kelli Unrein
The Pinon Project, CMP Coordinator
970 564 1195 x125

Rio Grande County

Clarissa Woodworth
San Luis Valley Behavioral Health Group
719 587 6967

Gunnison County

Meghan Dougherty
Gunnison County Collaborative Management Program
970 641 7665

Alamosa County

Clarissa Woodworth
San Luis Valley Behavioral Health Group
719 587 6967

Conejos County

Clarissa Woodworth
San Luis Valley Behavioral Health Group
719 587 6967

Pueblo County

Maureen White
Health Solutions
719 423 1255

El Paso County

Terri Anderson
Joint Initiatives for Youth and Families
719 635 7814

Douglas County

Chris Meyer
Douglas County Youth Initiative
720 951 0217

Boulder County

Susan Caskey
Boulder Count IMPACT
303 441 1151

Weld County

Kelly Schramm
Youth and Family Connections
970 351 5475

City and County of Denver

Serena Gonzales-Gutierrez
Denver Collaborative Partnership

720 913 4280

Mesa County

Sarah Heffner
Mesa County Hilltop Community Resources
970 244 0602

Teller County

Maren Fuller
Teller County Collaborative Management Program
719 650 2457

Huerfano County

Terri Patrick
Huerfano Family Resource Center

For a full list of service providers in the counties indicated in green, click here.

©2018, All rights reserved. Phone: 303-866-7420. Log in

COACT Colorado is a cooperative initiative between the Colorado Department of Human Services and other state, local, and federal partners