What is COACT

Colorado’s Trauma Informed System of Care, or COACT Colorado, is supported by a cooperative agreement between the Colorado Department of Human Services and the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), administered by the Office of Behavioral Health in partnership with the Office of Children, Youth, and Families, and other local partners. The system of care in Colorado builds on existing infrastructure such as the Collaborative Management Program (HB 04-1451). All child and youth serving agencies are involved, including the public mental health system, child welfare, juvenile justice, and education.

A statewide goal for the system of care is to develop a sustainable infrastructure to coordinate and fund services for families of children and youth with complex needs. Colorado is now piloting its first care management entity (CME) in El Paso County. A CME is a centralized organization that blends funding, organizes services and supports, and serves as a hub of accountability across agencies.

COACT Colorado is currently supporting 16 Communities of Excellence in a total of 20 counties throughout the state. Each Community of Excellence receives funding to support wraparound facilitators, family advocates, infrastructure development, and flexible funding services for families. All Communities of Excellence receive technical assistance in family engagement, youth engagement, cultural competency, and lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning (LGBTQ) responsiveness. Cross-system trainings are also available on other topics such as trauma informed care and serving youth with both mental health and substance abuse disorders. 

Service Map

The current Communities of Excellence are shown in green. Two out of three children in Colorado live in these counties. Please click on your county for more information.

COACT Service map

Montrose County

Kaye Hotsenpiller
Hilltop Community Resources
kayeh@htop.org
970 252 7445

Garfield County

Sara Barrett
Garfield County CMP
sbarrett@youthzone.com
970 625 3141 x113

Eagle County

Sarah Luben
Eagle County Health and Human Services
sarah.luben@eaglecounty.us
970 328 8835

Lake County

Gloria Perez
Lake County Department of Human Services
gloria.perez@state.co.us
719 293 5272

Montezuma County

Kelli Unrein
The Pinon Project, CMP Coordinator
kunrein@pinonproject.org
970 564 1195 x125

Dolores County 

Kelli Unrein
The Pinon Project, CMP Coordinator
kunrein@pinonproject.org
970 564 1195 x125

Rio Grande County

Clarissa Woodworth
San Luis Valley Behavioral Health Group 
clarissa@slvbhg.org 
719 587 6967

Gunnison County

Meghan Dougherty
Gunnison/Hinsdale County CMP 
mdougherty@gunnisoncounty.org
970 641 7665

Hinsdale County

Meghan Dougherty
Gunnison/Hinsdale County CMP 
mdougherty@gunnisoncounty.org
970 641 7665

Alamosa County

Clarissa Woodworth
San Luis Valley Behavioral Health Group 
clarissa@slvbhg.org 
719 587 6967

Conejos County

Clarissa Woodworth
San Luis Valley Behavioral Health Group 
clarissa@slvbhg.org 
719 587 6967

Pueblo County

Maureen White
Health Solutions
info@health.solutions
719 423 1255

El Paso County

Terri Anderson
Joint Initiatives for Youth and Families
terri@jointinitiatives.org
719 635 7814

Douglas County

Chris Meyer
Douglas County Youth Initiative
cmeyer@admhn.org
720 951 0217

Boulder County

Susan Caskey
Boulder Count IMPACT
scaskey@bouldercounty.org
303 441 1151

Jefferson County

Amy Terry
Jefferson County Department of Human Services
aterry@jeffco.us
720 497 7898

Weld County

Kelly Schramm
Youth and Family Connections
kschramm@youthandfamilyconnections.org
970 351 5475

City and County of Denver

Serena Gonzales-Gutierrez
Denver Collaborative Partnership
serena.gonzales-gutierrez@centergt.com
720-913-4280


Mesa County

Sarah Heffner
Mesa County Collaborative Management Program
sarahh@htop.org
970-244-0602

Teller County

Maren Fuller
Teller County Collaborative Management Program
maren.fuller@state.co.us
719-650-2457

Huerfano County

Terri Patrick
Huerfano Family Resource Center
terrimpatrick1961@gmail.com
719-738-2378




For a full list of service providers in the counties indicated in green, click here.

©2017, All rights reserved. Phone: 303-866-7420. Log in

COACT Colorado is a cooperative initiative between the Colorado Department of Human Services and other state, local, and federal partners